DirecTV Complaint

Distressed - Unauthorized termination fee

- Austin, TX
I have protested to Discover Card about the unauthorized charge of $ 144.04 termination fee made to my card on a DirecTV’s account 000162460 on March 06 for Invoice dated March 07. Please note that the on-line charge was made one day earlier than the invoice date. My On-line automatic payment was closed and confirmed by them on February 14th . I then attempted to delete my personal information but it is impossible so I had no choice but to cancel my credit card which will require some effort to notify others.

I have pleaded with DTV customer service time and again with the following facts which they admit is correct: I was given a new HDTV receiver in January 2006 in exchange for a purchased RCA DCT100 HDTV receiver because I had been a loyal customer since October 1994. Later in February of 2007 that receiver became defective and they exchanged it for a working model. Two years later I decided to try the new AT&T Uverse service and called to cancel my DirecTV account. They offered me a $20 month reduction if I would stay with them. I said no because I had made a decision to try out new technology after my two years experience with DirecTV’s new HD service. (January 2006 to February 2008)

While many of the customer service people agreed with my statement, someone in management decided that they were going to charge me $200.00 termination fee probably because I wouldn’t agree to stay with them. When I called DirecTV to complain of the $144.04 charge, this was their explanation: The free receiver given to you in January 2006 was a no warranty product and we replaced it with a new lease unit in February of 2007 in which you accepted a two year verbal commitment. That is incorrect. When my receiver went bad customer service wanted to send out a technician but I said that was unnecessary because I have always installed my own equipment. No mention was ever made about any commitment except to say that a prepaid shipping tag would be included for the return of the defective receiver, which I did. I then asked them why they didn’t send me a bill for my review instead of charging my account when it had been closed to them for automatic payments. He said they had the authority to do that on any account where service had been discontinued. I then questioned the contents on the bill and he explained, “Well someone must have made a mistake and management reviewed and corrected it.” I inquired at the same time to make sure that they had received my later unit and he did confirm that it had been received.

Of interest here is that one customer service representative told me that they had changed their policy to leasing equipment in March of 2006. If that is correct then my free unit (which I returned) should have been credited back to that date at the same time when I received the replacement receiver. I have pleaded and pleaded with DirecTV to reconsider my plight but they will not budge.

They keep referring to their published terms and conditions as their authority. I have never seen or signed any terms and conditions because I never had a contract with them because I have always bought my own equipment and installed same for over thirteen years. They did send me a copy after I told them to cancel my service.

This is extremely difficult for me as a senior citizen soon approaching the age of 80 years and my wife passing away almost three years ago that had always given me support.




Read Next Complaint >>






Email Story   |   Comment on this Story



Read more consumer reviews from Complaint Catalog -> Cable/TV/Satellite

Reader Comments:

Posted by gfgriepp on 05/27/2009
30 Months of Fraudulent Billing!
Wednesday, May 27, 2009 10:50 a.m.

Called and spoke to David (U2631) at DIRECTV he informed me Amanda would return my call within 2 hours.
Amanda (R9631) at DIRECTV called offered me 60 days credit I politely refused and again informed DIRECTV that I would be suing in small claims court and filing criminal charges for unauthorized use of a credit card. Amanda kept telling me that DIRECTV had spoken with me and I had not called DIRECTV to confirm the disconnect and that DIRECTV had billed me for approximately 30 months before I noticed. I stressed to Amanda that I had never been contacted by DIRECTV after my initial E-mail in July, 2006 and that I had never spoken to DIRECTV about this account until February 24, 2009 when I discovered the fraudulent billing.

DIRECTVs position appears to be that I did not catch DIRECTV soon enough so DIRECTV intends to keep most of the funds that DIRECTV fraudulently removed from my bank account because I did not catch DIRECTVs fraud quickly enough. The approximately $100 credit DIRECTV offered does not equal the approximately $1600 dollars DIRECTV obtained fraudulently.


Posted by proplayer71 on 03/01/2010
www.directvscams.com Would you reward a kid for stealing from your purse? Of course you wouldn't.Then why is the NFL rewarding Directv with exclussive rights? They lie , cheat , and steal.They charge you to lease their equipment , then charge you upto $5.99 to protect it against repairs.They will also make unauthorized charges to your credit/debit card.This is 100% accurate , google directv complainsts , it will blow your mind , they had over 20,000 complaints in 3 years , thats a BBB record.They have 3 lawsuits pending , in California , Washington , and Oregon.This does not include the silent suits.My goal is to get congress to open the NFL Sunday Ticket to cable companies , And all Satellite companies , At the top there is a Petition , my goal is to get 10,000 signatures then I'm sending the petition to congress.America needs competition , what if there was only 1 electrc company , gas company , Or auto maker?You Get the point , Thanks for your support! Earl David Evans


Related stories:


Home    Consumer Resources    Browse Complaint Catalog       Terms & Conditions/Privacy Policy    Frequently Asked Questions

Copyright 2005-2010 Complaint.TV